Dr. Michael Manyak received the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award in February 2013 at a ceremony on Capitol Hill in the US House of Representatives Cannon office building. The award was presented by US Representative Pete Sessions (R-TX), a previous recipient of the same award.

< +++ >

The Eagle Scout Award

Eagle Scout is the highest rank in the Boy Scouts and among its most familiar icons. Americans from all walks of life know that being an Eagle Scout is a great honor, even if they don’t know exactly what the badge means. Men who have earned it count it among their most treasured possessions. Approximately 4% of Boy Scouts attain the rank of Eagle and slightly over 2 million have been earned in the 100 years since the first Eagle. The Eagle Scout Promise states that you do your best each day to make your training and example, your rank and your influence count strongly for better citizenship in your community and in your contacts with other people. The award is more than a badge it is a state of being. You are an Eagle Scout—never were.

In a recent study* conducted by Baylor University, Merit Beyond the Badges, found that Eagle Scouts are more likely than men who have never been in Scouting to:

  • Have higher levels of planning and preparation skills, be goal-oriented,
  • and network with others
  • Be in a leadership position at their place of employment or local community
  • Report having closer relationships with family and friends
  • Volunteer for religious and nonreligious organizations
  • Donate money to charitable groups
  • Work with others to improve their neighborhoods

*The complete study on the impact of Eagle Scouts can be found here.

Distinguished Eagle Scout Award

The Distinguished Eagle Scout Award was established in 1969 to acknowledge Eagle Scouts who have received extraordinary national-level recognition, fame, or eminence within their field, and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. The award is given by the National Eagle Scout Association upon the recommendation of a committee of Distinguished Eagle Scouts. Only 0.1% of Eagle Scouts attain this prestigious award.


*To read Dr. Michael Manyak’s Eagle Scout Award profile, read more here.